Commonwealth Home
Second Veil Defence Pact State
Government: Absolute Duchy
Acting Ruler: Field Marshal Prince James, KG
Capital City: Tabriz
Lowell acts as the Defensive Member of the Commonwealth, responsible for defending the North-East Quadrant. The previous ruler, Travis Heinmann, was a former officer in the Reich Heimat-Heer, who defected to Sable early this century, and swore allegiance to King Robert. He was appointed Duke of Lowell and KG as a reward for military services rendered, on the death of the previous Duke without issue, a little under twenty years ago. He was assassinated on a visit to the world of Carrick on 21 February SY159. Field Marshal Prince James is currently acting ruler of Lowell, and supervising investigations into problems in the Quadrant.

 Veil One Worlds


Commonwealth Member
Government: Sable Governorship
Ruler: Governor Rhaetia Cavelleri
Capital City: Deuce

A temperate Shadow with a wealth of natural resources, both commodity minerals such as iron and copper ore, and precious minerals like gemstones, gold and silver. It is also blessed with rich soil for the production of a staple crops. This combination of fortunes means that Berrin is quite a wealthy Shadow, hosting the largest metals and precious metals exchanges in the Commonwealth outside of the Sable Commodity Exchange, with which it has strong ties.


Commonwealth Member
Government: Sable Governorship
Ruler: Governor Jeremy Braithwaite
Capital City: Tedrin (Eastenra Continent)

Byron has a reputation for being a centre for the arts, as well as the Shadow where a lot of the Commonwealth’s greatest scientists and inventors have had their origins. It is comprised of a large archipelago of islands, surrounding two more significant land masses – Northland and Eastenra. Northland is home to Byron College of Conjuration, the largest college specialising in this new field of magic anywhere in Sable and the Commonwealth.

Veil Two Worlds


Commonwealth Member
Government: Council of the rulers of the various landmasses
Ruler: Chief Councillor Ernest Mayar
Capital City: Lebarin

A part-industrialised, part-agricultural world with a number of larger landmasses and some smaller islands. Usually any given landmass will specialise in either agricultural or light industrial activities. Some areas are engaged in forestry, crop and animal farming and market gardening. Others produce clothing, fabrics and light industrial products. It is establishing closer ties with Anghelt for an exchange of raw materials, goods and techniques.


Commonwealth Member
Government: Democracy
Ruler: Prime Minister Marica Dewi
Capital City: Rushwick

A Shadow known as a centre of learning and diplomacy. Rushwick is the home of one of the best universities in the Commonwealth, and the culture of that university town is fairly typical of the towns and cities around the Shadow. As well as intellectual and diplomatic expertise, the Shadow offers a wealth of light industrial products to the Commonwealth, often including new innovations on old themes.


Commonwealth Member
Government: Constitutional Monarchy
Ruler: Queen Erzabet
Capital City: Köln

Karstadt has an interesting combination of some of the best consumer facilities in the Commonwealth, and mass producers of good quality magi-tech items. While the mass production manufacturing processes on Anghelt are more advanced than Karstadt, the latter maintains its reputation for manufacturing a superior product. These products, as well as jewellery, clothes and other consumer items, are for sale in the many new shopping malls and older market-places on Karstadt. It has suffered from problems with Machine incursions.

Veil Three Worlds


Commonwealth Member
Government: Hereditary Presidency and Advisory Council
Ruler: President Geoffrey York
Capital City: Chester

Anghelt is a comparatively small, mainly industrial Shadow, with a wealth of natural resources, which was admitted to the Commonwealth on 1 January 150, following extensive negotiations over the prior two years. A somewhat industrialised Shadow, where Magic is definitely second to c1990s technology, although it is still completely functional. Anghelt supplies low-level industrial machinery which has been converted to run with magi-tech in Sable itself, as well as more straightforward industrial products to other Commonwealth and non-Commonwealth Shadows. The President is advised by the Council of Twelve, made up of senior figures from some of the most powerful political families, nominated by the Parliament. Occasionally, outside of the normal electoral cycle (a Confirmatory Election for a new President, then elections every five years until the next Confirmatory Election), or should a member of the Council leave his duties, the President can appoint a replacement.


Commonwealth Member
Government: Council of Elders
Ruler: Chief Councillor Rojan
Capital City: Bakir

Carrick is a trading Shadow with reasonable links to its neighbours – Garioch, Karstadt, Blaine and Fraser – and out into the Outer Ring (the Veil 4), and elsewhere in Veil 3. The tech level is around 1960s, in line with its neighbour, Garioch. Much of the Shadow is fairly arid, and about 40% desert. There are more fertile areas where Carrick grows agricultural products, and farms sheep, goats, cattle and very good horses. In addition, there are manufacturing industries nearer to the cities, specialising in vehicles and farming equipment. The farming methods are well-established and efficient. The capital, Bakir, is situated on one of the major rivers and is reasonably prosperous. It applied for full Commonwealth status in mid-SY158, and became a Commonwealth Member on 1 April SY159.


Government: Democracy
Ruler: Prime Minister Hilary Markus
Capital City: Suiker

A largely industrial Shadow of around 1960s tech, .with some links to its surrounding Shadows – especially trading industrial products with Carrick in return for agricultural ones. It is keen to join the Commonwealth, but was most recently rejected, eight years ago, as it was considerd unready for admission due to the instability of its government, which has a habit of changing on an approximately six-monthly basis. Since the last rejection, however, it appears to have got its act together more, in terms of its government. The current Prime Minister has now been in office for nearly five years, and her Trade and Justice party is doing well in the approval polls.


Government: Republic
Ruler: President Remus Kychek
Capital City: Minster

A largely industrial Shadow of approximately c1990s tech (a relatively recent increase). While it is a Republic, its government is comparatively restrictive, which is one of the reasons why it was rejected for Commonwealth membership in favour of Anghelt in mid-SY 148. It has not forgotten this slight, and wants to get even…which is, of course, just the sort of policy which caused them not to be selected in the first place. Like it’s neighbour, Jensen, Garrowby has developed much closer links to the Outer Reich than many other worlds in the Commonwealth Veils.